Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Because of that, some produced foods and beverage products include high levels of sugar, which impacts people ’s health badly. Many voices assert that sugar prices must be higher to keep people away from consuming it. This essay vehemently opposes such assertions and explains why. To begin with, there are some valid concerns about why increasing the price of sugar is not beneficial for people to prevent them from being unhealthy. The factor that influences people to redesign their purchasing habits is not price but their perceptions. Even though consumers buy relatively less sugar due to an increase in the price, they continue to buy and use them in their meals in the long term. For example, the Turkish government implemented new taxes on cigarettes in order to decrease cigarette consumption in the country. Unfortunately, this policy did not pay off since it slightly changed people ’s purchasing frequency rather than altering their awareness. Moreover, the average cigarette consumption in Turkey is nearly the same compared to before the taxes. Secondly, What makes people less willing to buy sugar and avoid unhealthy consequences is to increase their awareness of undesired outcomes of sugar. Therefore, individuals slowly abandon to use of harmful products by having more knowledge about which product has positive or negative effects. Thus, the conscious level of people will rise. Also, more effective and permanent outcomes will occur. According to an article in Public Health Magazine, In Japan, marketing campaigns that highlight the damage of used batteries to nature achieved to reduction in the rate of battery trashes in public areas by 12%. To sum up, despite the idea that sugar must be more expensive to decrease its consumption due to the unwanted health effects of sugar, this policy is not beneficial. Instead of high prices, customers must be aware of sugar ’s dangers and use it less consciously.