With growing number of populations in cities. Many people are living in small homes that don’t have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

The majority of people are staying in small houses and flats that don’t have external areas due to the increasing number of citizens. This writer believes that this is a negative development because it leads to environmental problems and health issues. It is evident that overpopulation is one of the most significant problems happening around the world. This is such a sore issue as it affects the environment. Thereby, having small homes with no outdoor spaces is really harmful because, with no extra land, there are not many trees. It is true that trees have a variety of benefits, however, with fewer trees there would be fewer shade areas for people to sit under, thus, making the surroundings hotter. Moreover, trees capture carbon dioxide, the emission from factories and vehicles which leads to the greenhouse effect. The reduction in tree species could pollute the environment. Another drawback when applying the no outdoor spaces strategy is that it could influence the owner’s health. Firstly, outside areas, such as parks, the places where everybody can go and exercise and maintain a healthy lifestyle. However, with no parks or local playgrounds, people will be passive as they do not get enough exercise needed to be energetic. What is more, many residents nowadays work night shifts which is exhausting and they go home. When having an outdoor space, they could feel the fresh air not just the stifling atmosphere from a cubic-shaped flat. As a result, this could help them relax and reduce the risk of getting depressed. In conclusion, in the modern era, the number of populations is growing which leads to the fact that many citizens have to live in small homes that do not have external places. The drawback of the problem is that it could affect not only the environment but also human health.