In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

In some countries, people claim that children can make any achievements as long as they put enough effort into those tasks. This essay will expound on the both upsides and downsides of this attitude. On the one hand, children’s encouragement to work diligently can cultivate their positive attitude. Whenever the youth face any challenges in their future life, they can effectively withstand and try to overcome the problems. The more positive mindset people have, the more capabilities they show to cope with tough or unexpected situations. As a result, they can definitely become more successful in their future working environment. Meanwhile, if the youngsters truly believe in achieving whatever they want, they show more perseverance in the pursuit of their goals. Generally, I believe that the benefits of this attitude can be numerous, however, the ability to cope with stressful situations and having more endeavours are the two most significant of them. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this perspective should not be neglected, especially in a situation where despite hard work the expected results have not been achieved. This failure can lead to not only mental illnesses but also low self- esteem.To elaborate, if adolescents put much effort into getting what they want but they cannot obtain the desired outcomes, they may lose their self-belief or even worse they doubt their abilities. For instance, suppose a child has been trying so hard for a math competition, while she/he could not get an acceptable grade for passing to the next level of the tournament, so he/she lost self-confidence and felt frustrated. Moreover, this attitude by putting emphasis on effort exclusively, may underestimate the power of natural talent or other external factors in the way of success. In conclusion, while it is true that hard work is an indispensable element in the way of success by bringing either positive viewpoints or encouraging more attempts, the belief in its certainty can mentally affect people and lower their self-esteem.