Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a positive thing or a negative thing?

Many individuals tend to follow the latest fashion rules. There are some reasons for this trend as well as a couple of negative consequences, which we will discuss here. With regard to the possible causes, many believe that the advancement of technology and ever-rising use of the internet contributes to people's tendency to follow fashion and put on fashionable clothing. In other words, numerous colors and models are frequently shown on social media; therefore, individuals, especially youngsters, try to imitate those clothing styles. In 2023, in Canada, for instance, an influencer showed up with an old-money style and ended up with thousands of teenagers and adults picking up the style. Additionally, wearing fashionable clothes has been a symbol of intellectuality over the past few years, meaning that those who follow the latest fashion rules are considered to be open-minded and up-to-date. Consequently, a considerable number of fashion followers express themselves as intellectual characters, wearing fashionable clothes. Turning to negative consequences, there is a widely-held concern that fashion imitators will not be left with any personal preferences. It means that, if individuals copy other people's styles and models, they will not be able to own their own decisions or clothing styles. Another negative point that is worth considering is that getting used to following fashion may cause consumerism. This is because these people always want to stay committed to the changes of fashion; therefore, they should buy numerous pieces of clothing. According to a survey, conducted in Europe, 50 per cent of people reported that they wore their fashionable clothes just once as that piece of clothes were overly worn. In conclusion, after taking the aforementioned points into consideration, it seems that, although wearing fashionable is happening due to the increasing use of the internet, it can bring about negative drawbacks as it can cause spreading consumerism and lack of personal decisive skills.