The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that giving much more serious punishments for driving offences is the only method to enhance road safety. Although stricter punishments have some benefits, I still firmly disagree with this statement for some reasons which will be explained in this essay. On the one hand, those who claim that imposing several serious punishments is the only approach to improve road safety because of is highly deterrent. This means that these punishments include extremely administrative fines and criminal punishments that can threaten drivers and prevent them from committing offences while driving. Therefore, these punishments can reduce the proportion of accidents and enhance road safety effectively. For example, according to Vietnamese laws, an individual can receive an extremely administrative fine if one uses a vehicle while drunk. As a result, the quantity of traffic reports showed that the percentage of accidents has been on a downward trend after this law was released. This proves that these punishments have some positive effects on threatening drivers to avoid accidents as well as improve road safety. On the other hand, I argue that other vital ways to ensure roads safe are educational measures and improved traffic infrastructures. Firstly, raising resident awareness of obeying traffic regulations is also a way to enhance the safety of roads. This is because people can drive safely and avoid accidents when they comply with regulations correctly. Secondly, the governments should invest in transportation and traffic systems, which means that the quality of public vehicles should be improved as well as the traffic infrastructures such as traffic lights that should be utilized effectively and constructed more in many heavy-congestion routes. Similarly, many streets should be expanded or rebuilt to ensure safety for drivers. In conclusion, the safety road is improved by not only strict punishments but also other methods including educational campaigns and traffic systems. For these reasons, I strongly disagree that serious punishments are the only approach to foster safe roads.