It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a lively debate about whether the history curriculum should place emphasis on local history rather than international history. From my perspective, I disagree with this view. On the one hand, it is undeniable that fostering national pride and identity in young children is of utmost significance. Therefore, the role of national history lessons should not be ignored as such lessons can cultivate a profound sense of patriotism and national pride in young students. For example, if Vietnamese children are given lessons about how valiantly their ancestors fought for the freedom of their motherland, they are likely to become more patriotic and be willing to devote themselves to the country’s development when they grow up. Nevertheless, I believe it would be unwise to focus solely on domestic history. First, a comprehensive study of world history can enable young learners to gain a deeper and more nuanced understanding of their country's history, rather than developing a superficial and myopic perspective. For instance, if Vietnamese students are taught about the geopolitical and international factors that have influenced Vietnam's history, they will acquire a more balanced and nuanced interpretation of their country's past. Furthermore, having a good grasp of other nations' histories can also help children learn to be more tolerant and embrace differences in cultures, religions, and political systems between countries. This not only benefits students ' career prospects when working in multinational environments but also contributes to the overall harmony of the world. In conclusion, it is paramount that educators integrate both local and global history to help students develop a rich and multifaceted understanding of their country as well as the world.