Sports programmes are very popular on television nowadays. Some people argue that those programmes are the reasons for poor health of many young people as the prefer to watch sports rather than partake in them. Do you agree or disagree with this view ?

Sports programs are excessively aired on television. Many individuals support the notion that watching sports on TV contributes to youngsters showing reluctance to do exercise; however, I hold the conviction that mental health can be a vital feature that leads people to stay motivated to do sports. On the one hand, supporters of this belief point out that doing exercise and experiencing excitement can similarly release hormones of happiness into the body. It means that, if a person aims to achieve this feeling, he should be physically active. Therefore, audiences of sports on television get excited and their bodies' demands for happiness hormones are satisfied; consequently, they will lose their interest in physical activities. In the United States, for instance, a survey conducted in 2023 showed that 40 per cent of younger generations reported they had a high level of excitement watching sports programs on TV and therefore they did not consider it required to do exercise to get a feeling of cheerfulness and thrill. Conversely, opponents of this idea refer to the fact that there are more determining factors that might be effective in people's attitude towards being physically active. In other words, mental health and time are thought to be more serious deterrent reasons. A depressed person, for instance, struggles with some internal and mental problems, which make him physically fatigue and unable to have a routine for doing exercise. An individual who is also forced to work eight hours a day, will not be able to dedicate enough time to staying active. As a consequence, watching sports on TV has nothing to do with this group of people's motivation to function physically. Let us take the UK as an example, where 60 per cent of those who are not at an appropriate fitness level, blamed their time limitation as the main reason for their laziness and underactivity. In conclusion, after taking the aforementioned points into consideration, I am inclined to believe that, although lower levels of physical activity are due to the increased broadcast of sports programs, more remarkable factors encompassing lack of time and mental health should be known as reasons for decreasing fitness activities.