There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern world, many parents want their children to be successful in their academic pathway. Hence, there are some thinking that education systems should get rid of some subjects such as physical education and cookery to let their children be able to focus 100% percent on studying academically. From my perspective, I considerably disagree with this statement. Granted, people might argue that non-academic lessons are not essential for students. This assumption is predicated on the thought that the best way to succeed is to study well academic subjects such as math, English, physics, etc. They believe if those subjects are dismissed, their children will have more time to spend on researching science subjects and have more possibilities to thrive academically in the future. However, this is not sound, because each individual's ability is completely different that one may be really good at math and feel interested in it, but others feel bored and regard studying non-academic subjects as really great ones. As a result, a loss of balance will be created and a lot of students will no longer feel intrigued enough to go to school anymore. On the other hand, putting too much pressure on studying well academic lessons upon students will lead to a lot of mental health problems such as stress, desperation, or overstudying, while there is no subject that students can release anxiety after studying hard, furthermore, those academic subjects are the lack of movements that can cause many diseases relating to physical problems which will disturb in the studying progress. Additionally, physical education or extracirrcular might be useful to help students have soft and practical skills that they will never find in other subjects. According to these factors, it is unreasonable to remove non-academic subjects from the school syllabus. To conclude, each individual has their own interests and different abilities, and excluding other non-academic lessons from school may not be wise due to causing a lot of health problems such as physical and mental problems, especially those providing students with soft and practical skills.