Some people say that the extinction of species is the main environmental problem that we are facing in modern times. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that in this contemporary time, the primary environmental issue that people encounter is the extinction of creatures in the world. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this matter and my supporting reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching my conclusion. At the outset, there are several drawbacks to this problem contributing to the environment and one of the most significant is that it leads to other problems. To elaborate further, some creatures control other animals' populations and therefore the ecosystem becomes out of balance. Moreover, there will be an invasion of other species from outer areas which will destroy the original environment. An apt illustration, we can see this with the extinction of the coyote in Australia, after those animals extinct, the number of kangaroos dramatically rocketed up; consequently, poachers went to those areas and tried to poach, taking kangaroos parts to sell in the dark market. Besides, these hunters cut many trees to build their homes and settled in those areas, making a number of trees in our world dropped significantly. Additionally, another clear downside is studying. To explain in greater detail, researchers cannot find out about the mysteries of some extinct species which are sometimes can be useful for mankind. Furthermore, doing research on these animals can be the only solution to protect other species of them which are also on the brink of extinction. To specifically demonstrate, last month, I read an article about how to remedy an ailment caused by a virus and the article said that there was a serum that could only extracted from one of the Japanese turtles that was already extinct and hence there are no ways to cure the disease. In addition, the reasons why this wildlife disappeared are still unsolved and it could lead to other species that is close to this one, becoming extinct. All in all, it is clear that the extinction of creatures is the main cause of issues in our society. From my point of view, I agree with this idea as it can bring a lot of consequences as well as negative effects on studying other wildlife that can be useful to the world.