It is widely believed that children of different levels of intelligence should be taught together, while others think that more intelligent children should be taught separately. Discuss and present your opinion.

Whether young learners should be divided into different learning groups according to their academic grades has always been hotly debated. As some maintain that smart kids need to be grouped together, the majority, me included, believe that in providing equal resources, mixed classes may not be the most effective but the most necessary. On one hand, by selecting the most intelligent students and reshuffling classes, these young people can get the best resources, the best materials, and more opportunities, boosting their chances of success. For example, many schools in China have been adopting this approach for decades and have produced academically remarkable students. However, the dark side is extremely unsettling. There are unhealthy and brutal competitions within these elite classes, which have resulted in unnaturally high rates of depression. Moreover, due to inadequate communication with fellow children outside of their school circles, these young ones often display stronger prejudiced attitudes towards their less intelligent peers—a disturbing phenomenon that might widen the social division. Thus, although selecting and categorising could benefit a small fraction of individuals, it is the same cohort that may suffer from the direct impacts. On the other hand, a democratic society must ensure that each student has the same and equal access to education; otherwise, it would be a violation of basic human rights. That said, ranking young individuals by intelligence is unacceptable; depriving the opportunities of those who are considered obtuse is even worse. A mixed, diverse class that does not disproportionately allocate resources to anyone is beneficial to all. As a study suggested, students of higher levels still do equally well on exams as the ones in segregated classes, and lower-level students do better than their left-out counterparts. In other words, having students of varied abilities study together does not affect grades and could help those who are seen as unpropitious. In summary, it is not only against modern values but also not as healthy as expected to filter children using a single-minded method—the intelligence quotient. Hence, schools should continue to create a diverse, inclusive, and felicitous environment for everyone.