Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an undeniable fact that the number of the elderly is increasing at a fast speed. I feel that this will make it more demanding for society to deal with a number of problems caused by the trend because it greatly affects the national economy due to the lack of workforce whereas some are optimistic that the rapid advancement of technology will sustain business activities. The government will be expected to welcome more immigrant labourers to fill the severe shortage. On the one hand, society will suffer when economic growth is incredibly affected as more senior employees reach their retirement age. In other words, the lack of a workforce will lead to a national recession. For instance, the GDP in Japan has dropped intensely from 6.5 to 4 on average for the last few years since more older workers have retired from their work, which makes it more difficult for Japan to compete with other global markets, creating more poverty and crimes, making it a hostile and unsafe place to live for future generations. Thus, the government is required to employ more young people from foreign countries to support the domestic business. Being tolerant of foreign workers, Japan will boost the productivity and advancement of business in various fields. On the other hand, it is often believed that countries will not be damaged as much as expected because of the technology being advanced at an accelerating speed. Indeed, it has already replaced the human workforce in different industries. For example, more automatic cashiers are practically introduced in supermarkets and there are even robots which can take orders in restaurants. Therefore, the declining number of senior labourers will not deteriorate the national economy since the prevalence of such technological devices can fill their shortages. Furthermore, their sophisticated program not only reduces errors but also conducts work much faster than humans, which will promote business activities in broad ranges. In conclusion, while some believe society will not be affected by the ageing society thanks to technology replacing retired elderly employees, I feel that the country will face serious problems, for the incredible damage to the economy and life cannot be avoided. The government should be more flexible in accepting immigrant workers to fill their shortage.