At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Youths in some nations, including some Asian, African and Western countries, comprise the highest percentage of the total population. Having a larger proportion of youth is considered to have many advantages as well as demerits for a country. I personally believe that a country reaps more benefits from its active and young workforce. Having a large proportion of young adults and a relatively low percentage of seniors may lead to a disbalance in the demography of a nation and bring some negative consequences. Unemployment could be one such significant negative outcome which can lead to increasing crime rates, social unrest and political instability. Moreover, elderly people have vast experience and wisdom that are vital for many important state positions. With their diminishing numbers, the nation may struggle to find suitable elderly to fill those positions. For instance, elderly politicians, writers, researchers and doctors have more to contribute to society than their younger counterparts. On the other hand, the young generation is dynamic, and energetic, and can contribute to the job sector which has a huge positive impact on the economic development of the country. They come with fresh ideas and are free from old dogma. It gives them a competitive advantage in bringing innovations. It is undeniable that the educated young generation is the best resource a country can have, and their contribution to the country is significantly higher than the participation of children and elder people. For instance, technological development is mostly driven by youths and many countries reap the benefits of technological advancements from their relatively higher younger populations. To conclude, older people should not be considered a burden for the country; however, the young have more to contribute to society and the country as a whole. This is why it is more beneficial for a country to have an active and innovative workforce than dependent senior citizens.