People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree ?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the fact that it is unnecessary for high school students to spend time learning literature, such as novels and poems. While this statement is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of this idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, studying literature can help students gain a deeper insight of the history and culture of a particular place or time. There are good reasons to note that literature reflects people’s lives in a certain area during a certain period. A good example of this is that when students learn about The Independence Declaration of Vietnam, students can understand more about the time when French colonizers invaded Vietnam, our people had to suffer from two pressing problems which were starvation and illiteracy. Despite their complicated weapons such as iron tanks and aircraft together with a robust fleet of rivals, we defeated them as our patriotism was highly provoked and our soldiers fought tooth and nail in the battle. Therefore, students appreciate our ancestors for their sacrifice to make a great contribution to the building of the country. While the redeeming feature of learning literature is widely acknowledged, its counterpart can not be ignored. This is probably because literature does not have tangible benefits to pupils as subjects like math and computer skills. Math, for instance, enhances logical thinking and problem-solving abilities, crucial in engineering, finance and data analyst. Computer skills are indispensable in every industry today, from information technology and software development to digital marketing and cybersecurity. By focusing on these subjects, students are better equipped to achieve academic success and a bright future career. In conclusion, while literature has its merits, I believe that the time spent studying it in high school could be more effective used on other subjects that offer practical benefits and better prepare students for the challenges of modern life.