Governments should append money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that governmental funding should be invested more in railway construction while others tend to choose roads. I completely agree with this idea because I believe that railways can solve various problems that the government currently has. It is true that rail line spends more funds on construction than roads. That is to say, railways need more budget for maintenance and operation because they need professionals and other resources to operate the system and maintain the railways. For instance, the railway system often gets troubles such as broken rails, internet connection problems and the scarcity of electricity resources thus, it needs a high budget to solve these problems. To sum up, these are reasons made the government hesitantly invests their money in railways and makes them the main way of transportation in the city. Besides that, railways can solve numerous city problems that cost more than the railway budget for construction, operation and maintenance. Firstly, it can solve traffic accidents and congestion problems. While one route of road needs 40-50 cars to bring 200 people in one trip, a railway can bring this total number of people at once, so they can avoid traffic jams and arrive safely and punctually at their destination. Secondly, the presence of a rail system can fix some environmental problems such as air pollution and climate change. The efficiency of railways made car users switch their mode of transportation therefore, it can reduce the carbon emissions and toxins released through the air. This essay argued that the railway needs a substantial sum of money whether for construction, operation to maintenance as a result, the government is doubtfully spending their money on it. However, in my opinion, I completely disagree because railways have a big impact on solving some challenges the government recently faced that cost more than the railway ’s expenditure.