In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age from work outweigh the disadvantages?

In the aging population era, raising the retirement age is a topic of debate. While some believe this action brings society advantages, others believe that the disadvantages carry more weight. This essay will discuss both abovementioned matters before presenting my agreement on the former. On the one hand, it is believed that most developed countries' population is ageing. This is a result of younger generations not wanting to give birth; hence, the workforce will be affected in the future. Raising the retirement age means people could work longer, anticipating meeting the work demands. To be specific, Korea has started to raise the retirement age for their citizens, as their workforce is severely affected due to the mentioned above. Recent research from Hanguk University presented that the number of skill shortage in agriculture has been decreased by 10% due to their government push the retirement age higher in 2023. On the other hand, many people disagree with above view. This is a disadvantage to society as people will need to work for a longer period. Additionally, it is believed that it could bring quality of life and work down. Instead of retiring at a certain age, individuals will need to continue to work further, to meet the social benefits. This action could cause demotivation to work. To conclude, although I acknowledge that working for a longer duration might cause dissatisfaction to some individuals, I am of the opinion that increasing the age for people to retire brings countless benefits to a country’s economy and society as a whole.