Government should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Protecting the habitat has always been a top priority in the modern day. Local authorities should require citizens to look after their local surroundings. This essay will discuss my agreement with the abovementioned matter. Firstly, it is recommended that the government make citizens responsible for their own local living conditions. Authorities in every country should educate locals on recycling and make it compulsory for everyone in the neighbourhood to sort out recyclable and non-recyclable items before disposing of their trash. People are raising awareness of the recycling system in this way, as it plays a vital role in saving the planet. Additionally, heavy fines will be placed if citizens are found not to obey the recycling rules in some countries. For instance, in Australia, the fine is about 10 dollars for every litter on the street. Secondly, local councils cannot supervise locals all the time, hence, these individuals must play their part in protecting their environment. Communities should have a cleanup day every month, encouraging people to keep their neighbourhood safe and spotless. The communities need to cooperate/collaborate for a better purpose without financial benefit. There are multiple non-governmental programs that already exist and making huge impacts. They are bringing knowledge and education to humans on how to keep the planet green. Furthermore, research from Cambridge University has stated that the local community has more influence on individuals than programs of the state in terms of environmental protection. Overall, the authority and human should work alongside to maintain their local living condition. Without the work from both parties, it would be an extraordinarily difficult task to keep quality living at a high level.