Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a growing number of sports figures are promoting sports products. I believe the advantages corresponding with this issue are more considerable than the minor disadvantages. On the one hand, a potential advantage of sports celebrities getting involved in the advertising industry may be that they would encourage some young athletes to try harder to be like that particular sportsman. For instance, brands like Nike and Adidas use some popular soccer players who are the main idols for many young soccer players. Therefore, when youngsters buy and use those products, they might try harder to become successful in their path. On the other hand, a potential disadvantage of advertising sports products by famous athletes is that it might aim to persuade people that buying a particular product will make them happier. Moreover, some sports fans want to be like their favourite athlete and use the same products as they do. Thus, if a popular sports star promotes a product by posting it on social media, their fans may want to purchase that product even if they have something similar to it and it might encourage consumer culture. A further negative of using glamorous people for promoting a product is that children can easily be influenced by them and they would put pressure on their parents to purchase that thing. On balance, it is true that employing sportspeople would seem advantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its negative effects in terms of encouraging consumerism and influencing children in an adverse way override the advantages.