Some believe that all individuals who break the law should be placed in prison as a form punishment. However, other hold the view that there are more effective alternatives to deal with lawbreakers.

In today’s globalised world, there is a debate about the all committing crime people should serve a prison sentence, while some people claim that less harsh criminals have to be involved in other alternative activities. In this essay, I will explore both sides and try to draw some conclusions. On the one hand, imprisonment is an effective punishment for those who carry out severe injuries such as murder, terrorism, assault, drugs etc. All these mentioned crimes have a destructive effect on nations. That is why, the perpetrators of these crimes have to deprive for two reasons. Firstly, it will be a lesson for others to deter from breaking the law. Secondly, strong punishment will secure nations from harsh re-offending crimes. For instance, people who consume drugs might crimes of passion, especially murder, caused by sexual jealousy. Those who taste one-time drugs, will find it difficult to refuse consumption and maybe they will attract others too. On the other hand, some people advocate that there exists alternative punishment which will be suitable for the community to involve lawbreakers. For example, community service, penalties, probations and others. Involving individuals who break the law in community service will cause positive actions for the public. They consider that co-existence is one of the effective civilization solutions in the world. In addition, depriving all criminals is ineffective, because it requires a lot of money and space to service these prisoners. To sum up, we cannot deny the fact that all two arguments have their own positive and negative sides, but what type of punishment will be used depends on the severity of the crime.