People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays the life span became longer than throughout the entire existence of mankind. It's a very complicated question, what would overweight in the future, and what would have the greater impact on the human being - cons or pros of such life expectancy? In this essay, I'll try to see both points of view and estimate all the consequences. In the beginning, it's very important to say that the paramount cause of life expectancy is medical technological development. Today we have a lot of possibilities to diagnose life -threatening illnesses at their first steps, moreover, we have many more ways to treat them even than before the decade. Patients who would pass away 10 or 20 years ago remain alive today due to the new treatments. There are a lot of new targeted medicines for cancer. Moreover, scientists researched the new maintenance therapy for illnesses like ALS, Alzheimer etc. Besides that, a lot of them turn out to be helpless disabled people, who require a significant part of the budget. So, on the one hand, we can spend with our ones and loves - parents, grandparents - more and more years. On the other hand, there is a birth rate decreasing in the most developed countries due last decades. So, we can say, that despite the retirement age increasing, we have now the most miserable generation of young people, that has to feed their children as well as their parents. 50 years ago the chart of the population distribution was in a triangle shape, nowadays it's in a contrary form. In conclusion, it's awesome to have some generation of your family healthy and alive, but the expend of the life span does not always mean healthy. So humanity has to understand how to stay healthy due to a long life, not only to be alive.