Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Few people opine that students pursuing higher education must definitely be present for classes, while others think that it should be an individual choice, this can be due to the fact that university students are mature enough to take their own decision, however, I agree with the former idea as the necessary skill can only be gained by attending classes. On the one hand, it should be made compulsory for students to take part in their classes at university as the practical skills they gain are valuable for their future careers. Not imbibing them would put their future jobs at stake. Not only does it affect their own working life, but also creates a negative effect on society. For example, if medical students don't attend their classes regularly, they will not have the required experience in diagnosing and treating patients, which will put the lives of others at risk. On the other hand, the decision of attending classes should be left to those studying, as at a university level, they are mature and capable of deciding what is right or wrong for them. It is not needed to force them to study or to be present for classes. Those pupils who are really passionate about their work and profession will make maximum use of the classes irrespective of the conditions. Moreover, for example, those who are not interested will only just have a physical presence in classes and can also cause hindrance in the teaching and learning process of other students. In conclusion, although, university students are capable of making their own choices at their age about whether or not they should attend classes, making it compulsory will create a group of graduates who are well-trained and can contribute to the wellness of society.