In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

It is true that in some places of the world, the number of athletes who use dope is increasing considerably due to the narrow competition between them and, of course, because of their ambitions of winning. This issue could lead to a multitude of negative consequences. However, measures can definitely be taken to tackle this problem. Using dope and any performance-enhancing materials among athletes has many negative consequences. The first and most important result of using dopes is that it could affect the whole team and club, leading them to bankruptcy. Secondly, doping is so widespread among athletes who have not tried and have not made any efforts to be competitive; instead, they want to overcome their weaknesses with drugs. Thus, it can also motivate other athletes to use this kind of substance. Lastly, I believe all sports shows are about pleasure and fun; if doping happens so much among athletes, it can discourage people from watching sports shows, and they tend to amuse themselves with anything else. There is a load of measures to mitigate this issue. I would argue that establishing severe punishments for athletes who use dopes could be a fair penalty. For example, they should be punished with heavy fines. Meanwhile, another penalty, like banning them from playing in the future, could be a good attitude toward these sports offenders. Besides, there is an old proverb that says prevention is better than cure; teaching children about the ignobility of doping and the consequences could be a useful approach. In conclusion, using dopes among athletes has many negative effects on society. However, I believe many steps could be taken to address this issue.