The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern day, advancements in technological devices play a vital part in the human world. It is not only helping individuals but also society and government authorities by providing supervision. The number of crime-makers is lower compared to the past, as advanced technology is believed to be the prevention and solution to this. This essay will present my agreement with the abovementioned opinion. Firstly, various police departments in multiple countries use social media to communicate with their citizens on a daily basis. To be specific, in the state of NSW of Australia, whenever they are targetting a criminal/lawbreaker on the run, the police will send out text messages and images of the person directly to locals so these citizens can be the eyes and ears of the authorities. Furthermore, this way could prevent locals from approaching the dangerous person. This is credit to the help of smart devices and applications, that make communication go swiftly and smoothly. These measures also create a network and act as a deterrent for criminals, hence decrease the figure of crime eventually. Secondly, a huge number of crime cases have been solved by cameras installed on the street, at a convenience store or someone’s house. Without the advanced technology, these devices would never have existed. Whether it is a robbery or an assault, cameras could capture the footage, that will later come in handy for detectives or policemen. With further advanced development, like those in China, bad individuals can be spotted by high-resolution CCTVs, which can scan their faces through facemasks. These Biometric mechanisms are being applied massively in all first-world nations, and they create security in social settings and reduce the percentage of lawbreakers at the same time. In conclusion, developed information systems and devices have an essential role in creating a safe environment for humans. It will help authorities with precautions and resolutions, by correctly utilising these innovations, in terms of controlling the crime rate.