The rise of social media platforms has made it easier for people to vent their frustrations and complaints publicly. What is the consequence of this trend? Is there any benefit to expressing complaints on social media?

In recent years, a lot of social media applications have been made by big companies that facilitate communication and interaction between people. People use these applications to broadcast their complaints about online services or simply apply their opinions publicly. While this movement has some negative consequences, I believe that its advantages outweigh its negative aspects. Using social media applications as a substrate for complaining and criticizing individuals and services has a lot of consequences. Many politicians want to remain popular among people; thus, they should behave more conservatively when they are talking, especially in front of the camera. Another consequence that is worth mentioning here is the fact that in the past, there was not any competition between shops and other types of services; but, with the rapid growth of technology, and, with the help of social media applications, today many online services and shops have a lot of rivals, which made them produce better and of course chipper products. The first and most important benefit of using social media platforms and a tribune is the fact that now, people have the power to broadcast their opinions toward specific individuals or services; for instance, it could be a politician or an online food shop. Thus, no one could censor public opinions towards a subject. Secondly, when companies and services become aware of the power of people ’s opinions about their service, they try to do better and offer better services. Lastly, peoples’ attitudes toward subjects and daily topics can help researchers greatly; For example, I remember when I was at university, I used Twitter’s data as my dataset and built my own statistics for my paper. In conclusion, I would argue that using social media applications as a platform to criticize products and services has many consequences which could be positive many times.