Title :Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, many processed foods and beverages have been produced containing high levels of sugars which can cause serious health problems. Making sugary products more expensive to discourage people from buying them is a viable solution. I somewhat agree with this option. In this essay, I will give my reasoning and provide a conclusion. To begin with, human bodies are not designed to consume processed sugar in the form of drinks, chocolates or cakes. For instance, our ancestors the hunter-gatherers would get their daily dose of sweet exclusively from fruits or some vegetables, they did not have a product called sugar, they only tasted the sweetness of what is known as fructose and glucose in fruits and some vegetables. Furthermore, researching the life of the hunter-gatherers, scientists have found that they had no co-morbidities such as diabetes, Alzheimers, hypertension, obesity etc. Hence, This points to sugar being the culprit for the cause of these diseases in our society today. In light of this problem, making processed sugary products more expensive is a good way to stave off the general population. In addition, the taxes collected from these products should be invested into making healthier options cheaper and easily accessible. Additionally, people should be educated on the subject of health and nutrition. Consequently, this will lead to a decrease in diseases in general and cut down the cost of government spending on hospitals and research on making new drugs to combat these illnesses. Therefore, making sweet snacks more expensive seems to be the best standard approach to tackle health-related issues. In conclusion, it is obvious that sweet processed foods are not good for your body, and governments should take steps to make sure people are discouraged from consuming them and educated about their daily nutrition.