Some people think that governments should spend money for faster public transportation, others think that there are other important priorities (e.g. cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The half of population state that governments should fund more for better public transportation. On the contrary, others argue that public transportation is trivial, so it would better for governments to spend on other issues. Personally, I agree with the first statement, because by giving public transportation better funding, it would also tackle many problems in the cities or countries. First of all, the most obvious benefit of public transportation is eco-friendly. As we all know, by using public transportation, cities or countries could reduce their carbon footprint caused by private vehicles. Studies found that the country who have a good public transportation is more likely have the better air quality than country that relies on private vehicles. Furthermore, this eco-friendly aspect are also beneficial for people's health because when the air quality is in the safe category, it would reduce the health risk, such as lung cancer that they could get from inhaling dirty air polution. In addition, if people become healthy, governments would not have to bother with health funding. That is why, governments need to give more attention for public transportation in their countries, so more people want to use it. Moreover, if governments are only focus in other aspects such as cost but neglecting public transportation, they would never solve the root issue, which is affordability. As we can tell, majorities of people are in the lower to middle class category. Imagine if governments only provide a privatised highway that mostly cost double than public transportation fare, people would spend more money for their daily commuting. Furthermore, it would burden their monthly or maybe annual cost just for commuting matter. That is why they need public transportation for daily commuting because it is affordable for everyone. In conclusion, funding for public transportation is the best solution for governments to tackle many issues, because public transportation could reduce carbon footprint that caused environmental and health problems. Moreover, by giving public transportation a proper funding, it would also help the governments to control the living cost for many people.