Many historic buildings are being destroyed or damaged. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to preserve these buildings?

Historical preservation is surely one way to conserve the culture. However, many ancient structures have been mismanaged and pulled down in recent times. In this essay, I will explain why such occurence occurrences is happening and the way forward. There are various reasons why old and monumental houses are pulled down. First among them is a lack of understanding of the uniqueness and historical value of such structures. A lot of people in leadership positions particularly in government do not have sufficient information about their ancient communities and their significance to development thereby grounding facilities that have historical significance which would not have happened if they were acquainted with the story that birthed the structure. The second reason is the weak and poorly maintained building. Some of these buildings have become fragile and pose various degrees of disaster to lives and properties that surround them and in order to avert these dangers, taking off the structure from its foundation may be the solution to forestall further dilapidation even though there is a better ways to keep the building for more years. Having discussed the many why buildings are being pulled down, there are so many ways to protect them, the primary of them is adequate maintenance of such ancient buildings. Many of these houses can be turned into tourist attraction centres where visitors can come to learn about the history of the community and its numerous cultural activities, tourists can be allowed to access such structures with a token amount of money which will in turn be used to maintain such facility and also payment of salary to those who are workers in the building. In conclusion, dilapidation and insufficient historical knowledge are the main reasons why historic structures are been grounded, however, converting them into amusement centres for tourists will be a good way to protect them.