Due to development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local business are unable to compete.some thought that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree??

Many people think that stores in many places are impacting the regional shops, where they are losing business because of the competition by these supermarts. These shutdowns are also affecting the local neighbourhood. I completely agree with this statement because local stores have a cultural identity, and impact less on the environment. The main reason I agree with the statement is that local businesses have a cultural identity which supermarkets cannot replicate. This is due to shops in a community having a unique culture and traditions which are attributed to the people in the neighbourhood. Whereas, big corporations are large chain operations where there is no unique identity to associate with. As an example take a look at big chain markets in the USA like Walmart, and Costco where the shops are similar to each other in different localities and just identify with a brand and not the people. Secondly, another reason for my agreement is these big convenience stores can have a huge impact on the environment with their carbon emissions. Additionally these outlets throw out the waste generated into the landfills affecting the atmosphere. However, with the local shops garbage management is effiecient and generated less compared to supermarkets, resulting in less environmental pollution. For instance, take a look at waste produced by Walmart, which is estimated to be at 42% per year with food waste and 23% with dry waste. To sum up, the points discussed which are environmental effects and lack of cultural integration with big convenience stores in the country agree with the statement. There needs to be a certain number of large supermarts where that can be situated in city centres, which can encourage small businesses to grow in their locality.