In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advanages and disadvantages of gibing children this message?

There is a general consensus that positive thinking can help to overcome barriers. Some people believe that if a child is assured of success due to hard work, they will accomplish it. This essay will delve into the advantages and disadvantages of this format of thought. On one hand, when an impressionable youngster is told they can achieve anything they want, it instils a sense of self-confidence in them. Furthermore, this can be the difference between attempting more challenging feats and giving up. For example, I teach at a small private school where the school motto is "Nothing is too difficult to overcome". The students are taught that if someone has succeeded in a task before, this is merely a sign that it can be done again. On the other hand, if a student is easily anxious and struggles with self-worth, they may misconstrue the positive message. Moreover, they may start to believe that if they do not achieve their goals, it is thanks to their own deficiency. For example, a schoolgirl at my establishment worked on her chess skills on a daily basis in order to compete in the leagues. When she lost in the semi-finals, she believed it was a consequence of a shortage of her talent. This was not the case at all. The truth is there could only be one finalist. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of this message. Personally, I believe it is important to instil morale in children as they grow up, but not to the extent that it backfires.