Countries should produce enough food for their own population and import as little as possible. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

No one can deny that food is the most crucial thing in human life. I believe that countries must put the production of their food in its top priority and minimize the importing as little as possible. In the next paragraphs, I will discuss my opinion regarding the importance of being independent and the drawbacks of over-importation. It is very important to consider that producing your own food will usually save you a lot of money especially if you are a developing country. Because it will not cost you any expensive transportations such as planes or ships that demand a lot of cash. In addition, it will rescue the country from being in debt. for instance, a survey conducted 6 years ago stated that more than 10 developing African countries have been in severe debt due to they did not care about producing their own food and fully relied on importing basics like wheat and rice. Contrasting to that, if those had cared about being independent, they would not have fallen in that massacre. Focusing on the importing part, I see that despite being beneficial in introducing hard currency to the country, it is more likely will lead it to export its needs in the end as well and a huge disturbance in its finances will tend to happen. To illustrate, an article on BBC, regarding the Egyptian finance, that was written last year demonstrated that the price of imported wheat to foreign countries was cheaper than the price that was put locally just for the sake of the hard currency. If these limit their import and rely on their own production, many problems will be minimized, and they can manage it in the future. In conclusion, although importing may provide the countries with essential currency. I would argue that producing your own food not only will outweigh the merits of the latter, but also it will be the first step towards flourishment.