Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, travelling has become easier by flying. While some people believe this is the most convenient way to explore the world and budget airlines make prices so affordable for the middle class, others oppose that boarding air transportation creates environmental unsustainability, hence, airlines should raise their prices, so travellers have second thoughts when purchasing tickets. This essay will discuss the abovementioned matters before presenting my agreement on the former. On the one hand, planes are the most essential and time-effective way for holiday-takers to travel to their designed destinations. As airlines are competing with their rivals in terms of sales, this directly benefits plane-takers. It provides more opportunities for people to travel around the globe. Furthermore, we live in a fast-paced era, where technology develops daily. Engineers all over the world are working together to apply aerodynamics and create more sustainable aeroplanes so they can emit less carbon dioxide. Research from the University of Sydney states that 90% of travellers come to and exit Australia via aircraft as it is quite isolated from the world, hence, it is vital to have a large amount of jets arriving and departing the country. On the other hand, the environment is certainly a matter that should be considered, when it comes to tourism. This, in particular, travelling by flight. Planes are liable for a huge number of CO2 emissions every year, thus, it makes sense that authorities concern about its negative effects. When it comes to travelling domestically, individuals should be encouraged to take alternative options rather than planes. Hence, airline companies should increase their fares for gatekeeping purposes so locals opt for another option. In particular, the driving duration is about 3 hours from Sydney to Canberra. There are direct flights between these 2 destinations, which is about 45 minutes. In this case, airlines should make tickets more expensive so travellers can take roads instead of planes. In conclusion, planes play an important part in everyone’s life, whether it is travelling for holidays or work. While number of plane-takers cannot be reduced, governments and private organisations should work together to balance this issue and aim for sustainability.