Many people realize that people living in the 21st century generally have a better quality of lives than people born in earlier centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With advanced technology, today society leads life with many advantages compared to older ages. In my opinion, despite there are many positive things the world offers, there are still significant downsides that can’t be ignored as the consequences of gained benefits. On one hand, the 21st century has witnessed the outstanding development of the healthcare industry. The life span of humans has extended from many breakthroughs in medical science. For instance, the average life span of a Vietnamese only was 30-40 years old in the 18th century, while it is 70-80 for today population. Additionally, technology allows us to have access to various knowledge, connect to people around the globe, and is conveniently fast for us to spend less time in certain aspects, such as online banking, communicating, etc. On the other hand, the convenience of this age brings us numerous disadvantages. Humans get used to the fact that they can have anything just by the verge of their fingertips, and it takes away the excitement, as well as the motivation, and the patience to wait, which can lead to serious mental issues, for example, depression and anxiety. Out of 4 Americans, there is at least one who has to deal with mental illness. Besides that, unlimited and easy access to unhealthy food can cause obesity, which is a common disease for the population. In conclusion, I partly agree with the statement “People live a better quality life than in the past decades”, but there are also drawbacks as the consequence of the advantages of what we earn.