Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

In today’s society, modern technologies are used for various aspects of life. This includes the use of modern technologies for entertainment. However, some internet degenerates use the technologies to install music and books from the internet without any fees. To them, there are not any negative downsides, but soon this phenomenon can result in a negative development. The most obvious thing is that downloading copyrighted music and books is illegal and can lead to criminal charges. The reason some music and books are copyrighted because the artists do not want people to use their products as creative commons and only give the rights of use to cooperates or people who pay for them. When listeners download copyrighted music without fees or permission, it can lead to lawsuits, which can make people go to jail. A good example was when 12 individuals got sued by Apple Music for downloading copyrighted music illegally and uploading it on various platforms. As a result, 10 out of 12 people went to jail. Another downside to point out is that as more and more people abuse technologies to download music illegally, producers and artists’s incomes will be  reduced. Since people can download copyrighted music and arts without paying any fees, people are going to prefer the alternative options over the official ways because the alternatives are free. When more people use the alternatives, producers’s incomes will decrease and soon they may need to quit their job. Moreover as the phenomenon continues, fewer artists will be around and the entertainment media will soon wither away. Overall, downloading illegal music is not that dangerous now. However, in the future it could be a killing sources to entertainment.