Studies have shown that many young children worry about their appearance What are the reasons for this? What might best be done to reduce the problems?

Research has indicated that many young generations experience concerns regarding their physical appearance. Perhaps social media influence and cultural norms are the main reason for this issue yet it can be alleviated by boosting self-esteem and media literacy education. One of the root causes is how social networking platforms influence young people’s beauty models. The influencers or to be more specific are the advertising models that have been contributing to our definition of beauty through cosmetic advertisements. Online abuse will and will be increasing persistently with more and more victims. A survey in February 2022 revealed that one in five social media users claimed they were being abused because of their appearance. Henceforth, body shaming which defines the action or practice of mocking or stigmatizing someone by making critical comments about the outlook of their body has been created. Nevertheless, an action that can be taken to limit adolescence’s worry is education. In other words, children need to be taught to evaluate critically media messages and recognize that many images are manipulated. Combining this with promoting media to showcase diverse body types, ethnicities, and abilities can partially mitigate the adverse effects of the issue. Another solution to bear in mind is to build self-esteem. For instance, confidence may improve your mental health against criticism notwithstanding who you are.  In essence, the impact of social networking platforms causes this problem and can be reduced by educating and building self-assurance. Granted that this trouble may not be eliminated, striving to reduce it to the minimum is better than not trying