Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Since time immemorial, interactions, either competitive or cooperative, between people in different areas of life have been an inevitable issue. However, whether competition in every part of life is beneficial is a debatable issue. Personally, I am of the opinion that being competitive in different spheres of life can bring about more advantages rather than being just cooperative. Being competitive in different aspects has much value in various ways. To commence with, Competition is an indispensable factor when it comes to enhancement of the performance. In other words, individuals who encounter a competitive atmosphere in their workplace or school have to develop their range of knowledge and abilities in order to achieve promotion. To exemplify, if one’s peers strive to achieve A grade in their exams, one will try hard to follow in their footsteps. As a result, his efforts will probably come to fruition due to competing in a positive way. Moreover, a competitive atmosphere in the workplace can trigger employees to obtain better job positions and salaries. To clarify, monetary competition is one of the leading factors for employees to expand their performances, skills, and horizons to gain a decent salary. In contrast, opponents assert that developing a sense of cooperation will strengthen the team spirit. They claim that working and studying collectively and improving the sense of sympathy not only can result in great teamwork, but also serves as a deterrent to the sense of jealousy. Nevertheless, people can learn to keep the competition positive in tone and exploit that in the way of promotion and progress. The bottom line, although competition in various aspects of life may pose some drawbacks, it can considerably result in immense advantages, including promotion. Hence, I am firmly convinced that positive competition is of the significance for human life.