In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays people all over the world are living longer than usual, which leads to an increase in the ageing population. Some argue that it burdens the government with pension costs, whereas others argue that their experience and knowledge may benefit the younger population. In my opinion, it comes with its own merits and demerits. One of the primary advantages of having ageing people is that the younger people can benefit from their expertise and wisdom. Older generations have existed in this world for longer periods of time, they may have gained more knowledge throughout this period and experienced all kinds of situations. Thus, this knowledge and exposure can be used to solve problems that they have already been through, which means they are likely to know the solution.. For instance, when an employee is stuck with any problem in an IT firm, they tend to go to their senior employee for the solution because they might have come across this problem in their tenure,which is allowing them to provide solutions easily. An increased ageing population may burden the government with pensions and healthcare. As people grow old their health will decline making them physically inactive and unemployed. This places a financial strain on the government providing money to them in the form of pensions. Furthermore, it is forced to take care of expenses related to their health problems. In conclusion, as humans are living longer than usual the ageing population is increasing, which has both benefits and drawbacks such as, negatively impacting the government budget. In contrast, their expertise and wisdom can be useful for younger generations.