Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been an unprecedented surge in sparking extensive discussions regarding the implications of competition and cooperation. Some advocate that embracing competition brings several merits to their professional and academic performance, while others contend that cooperating with friends or rivals should be prioritized. From my perspective, although competition should be encouraged in our daily lives, it seems more crucial to realize the significance of cooperation. One compelling argument in favour of competition among individuals is that it is conducive to incentivizing motivation and enhancing problem-solving ability. Nowadays, competition is universally acknowledged as the main driving force behind innovation and development. Compared to cooperation, encouraging people to compete with each other motivates their aspirations to pursue broad objectives and provides them with cognitive exercises, ultimately cultivating critical thinking, independence, and creativity. For example, those athletes representative for their countries to participate in the Olympic contests usually set first place as their goal, and through competition, they can be equipped with the skills that approach problems from multiple angles, leading to a more innovative and flexible mindset. Nevertheless, in my opinion, unity and cooperation play a more pivotal role in today’s globalized world. First, any arduous task cannot be addressed through a single person. For those that an individual struggles to complete, cooperation and efforts from numerous entities offer a direct pathway to achieving their final goals, optimizing their time and resources for the best possible outcomes. For instance, combined with the financial assistance from the government and the innovative thoughts and regulatory framework from the medical company, various advanced healthcare technologies such as antibiotics, vaccines, and diagnostic imaging have successfully been applied to extend the patients’ lifespan and relieve their suffering mentally and physically. Furthermore, joint cooperation can also improve our efficiency and productivity, allowing us to select the optimal manners to tackle the pressing issues. In conclusion, despite recognizing the remarkable importance of competition in motivating aspirations and enhancing comprehensive capacities, I once again reaffirm that cooperation has a more critical impact on our work, learning, and daily lives. It extends multiple ways to realize desirable aims with high efficiency and productivity.