In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advatanges of having an ageing population outweigh the disavantages?

There is no denying the fact that nowadays the vast majority of people are living longer than before. while it is a commonly held belief that the proportion of elderly people is increasing and it could create potential issues for governments, there is also an argument that it is important to recognize the benefits that old individuals bring to society. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, having old individuals in our lives is essential. In other words, we can learn from their past and avoid any possible challenges, on the grounds that many young people lack life experience. In addition, youth can benefit from them by listening to their stories and gaining some wisdom from those who have lived through different eras. For example, if someone is struggling in life, they may seek advice from an elderly person to overcome their difficulties. On the other hand, old people's needs are expensive. It is also possible to say that, they often require healthcare services and specialized facilities. Moreover, most regions do not have such an immense amount of money to build or enhance specific sectors for them. For instance, African countries such as Somalia, already have great debts, so they can not allocate any part of their budgets to take care of elderly people. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend strongly to believe that the benefits of having older individuals far exceed the drawbacks. Older individuals bring valuable knowledge and experience to society, which can help young people navigate life's challenges.