In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, it can be seen that despite great progress in agriculture, lots of people are still starving. In my opinion, this is because of an unequal distribution of goods around the globe which leads to an excess of products in rich regions and a lack of them in poor ones. Thus, in order to cope with this issue, governments should control this process and subsidise people who are ready to send their products to impoverished regions. It is undeniable that the agriculture sector has developed over the years by replacing individuals with machines and increasing productivity. However, regardless many people around the globe still go hungry. Having analysed the situation, it can be observed that in developed countries the shelves in grocery stores are bending from the surplus of items while in developing regions they are empty. This is because the distribution between these areas is unequal. The unscrupulous middlemen buy products from farmers for nothing and then transport them to urban areas where they can sell them several times more expensive, ignoring the fact that some people will be starving because of their choice. In order to tackle with problem, the government should implement a law which subsidises producers and middlemen who spread their goods in poor regions. Thus, more commodities will be redistributed to remote areas and individuals finally receive access to the needed products. As a result, a myriad of people stop starving and can improve their living standards. In conclusion, I tend to believe that in today’s world, it is possible to eliminate worldwide hunger, by encouraging people to send their products to people in need rather than to rich regions.