Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport while others think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some believe that success in sport mainly depend on physical health while others claim that being strong-willed is a key factor leading to this success. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and this writer thinks that both of them play a vital role in becoming successful athletes. It must be acknowledged that physical strength is evidently demonstrated to be one of the key contributory factors in helping competitors meet sports competitions’ demands and have ample opportunities to achieve ultimate goals in this field. All sports require people have a good physical strength as it gives people the energy to partake in sports in the long run and the ability to get healed due to inevitable severe injuries. To illustrate, weightlifting is a sport which requires joiners to have good physical fitness and a qualified weight to lift weights in a certain time or swimmers who need endurance and good breathing to complete the race as best as possible. However, there’s no denying that having great spirituality is considered crucial to succeeding in this field. Since the participants are mentally strong and not deeply influenced by external factors such as people, personal pressure, and fear, they will most likely perform excellently. To illustrate, if people are pressured significantly by family, their clubs and even their own high expectations, they will be distracted and their performance also be significantly affected. Moreover, during the contests or journey, it is inevitable for contestants to undergo severe injuries so sportsmanship, family bonds, and friendship can become incredible motivations for people to ignore the bleeding, bruises, and scratches to turn success into theirs. In conclusion, both viewpoints have valid reasons, I believe that physical ability is considered to be a key factor leading to success in sports. However, the role of mental strength is no less important.