Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. Why should we be concerned about this? What solutions would you suggest?

The amount of smokers worldwide is still high even if several campaigns highlighting health risks have been made. Overall, we should approach this topic with seriousness for two main reasons: firstly, smoking is addictive. Secondly, it can be connected to a social activity. Despite that, several solutions can be found to decrease the number of smokers. Primarly, in a cigarette there are several chemicals, some of them can cause addiction. For this reason, quitting is very hard for many people that still continue to risk in term of health conditions. In addition, some psicological factors can even make more harder the quitting process. For example, a stressful life or a sentimental issue could make the giving up decision harder. Secondly, teenagers and younger adults usually associate the smoking act to their social life. So, they sometimes prefer their status over their health. The still high numer of smokers is a concerning issue for healthcare. Consequently, several proposals to invert this trend have been done during years. Among them, advertisements have been proposed to highlight the damages produced by cigarettes. Take for example the ones printed on the cigarettes' boxes or streamed in the net. Furthermore, psychologists have created large groups of people having the same aim of giving up smoking. Inside these groups, it is possibile to share experiences and fell less alone. To conclude, despite many efforts, the number of smokers is still relevant. Since this tendency has been recognized as a worry in terms of the healthcare, some actions must be taken. Personally, if I were in this situation, I would ask for help to a specialist and I might participate in group sessions coordinated by a psychologist.