In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the elderly public has an indispensable role to play in many aspects of contemporary society. Some public harbour a belief that countries with a growing proportion of elderly communities harm our government, while others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, it is a controversial issue which deserves an in-depth discussion. Initially, the front and centre in its favour are that the elderly population are usually causing governments more debt maintaining the social health care systems. Considering more decease and disability of self-caring in elderly communities, governments have to raise more budget for social welfare. Besides the aforementioned, it seems that the elderly public is directly and indirectly decreasing the workforce of the whole country, by quitting on workplace and making the younger generation more pressure to take care of. At the other end of the spectrum, such a vital role old adults play in the boosting social economy. The old population are more willing to purchase boutiques owing to abundant pensions. Furthermore, the elderly population have constructed mature professional knowledge and experiences they can take great advantage of in helping younger folk build their own careers. These indicate that the countries have many pros on the economy due to the elderly population. In sum, despite the elders raising governments’ budget on long-term health care issues, it is widely believed that the advantages of the ageing population to governments outweigh those disadvantages.