Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Now that technology has become more affordable and accessible, many adults and children are doing their work or studying from the comfort of their homes. Some argue that this change is a positive advancement, but some also have a contrasting opinion regarding this change. This essay agrees that being productive from home is a positive development for employees and students because people will have more free time for other productive uses and the adversity of less socialization caused by the use of technology can be mitigated. By working or learning from their houses, employees and students will have plenty of free time. This is because, mobilizing from home to the office or school usually requires a lot of time, because of the distance, traffic, and other factors. With their work or study being moved from the conventional office and school, adults and children can make use of their time for other activities, such as leisure activities that are good for mental health, instead of transporting. For instance, the average time for employees to go to their offices in Jakarta is 2 hours, bringing in the factor of traffic congestion and long distance. However, working or learning from home can hinder adults and children from socializing. This is to say that, by being in the office or school, children and adults are meeting and communicating with their peers physically, and these social interactions will be reduced when people work or study in their houses. However, with the existence of social media applications, this problem can be solved. For example, meetings and school lessons can be done through an app called Zoom, which works as a video conference platform. In conclusion, the benefit of having more free time and an innovative app that enables people to socialize in real- time through internet, makes working or learning from home a positive change for employees and students.