Many people use social media on regular basis in order to keep in touch with the news and with other people. Do you think that the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

The popularity of social media is quickly increasing nowadays. Moreover, a high proportion of the population are diaries using these networks to be updated with the news or to maintain contact with their friends. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the drawbacks and this essay pretends to explain why. To begin with, the speed of the internet allows people to be informed almost immediately. Meanwhile, It is impossible for just one individual to review all the news on the websites, it is possible to stay well informed just with social media. Platforms like Facebook, Instagram or Twitter enable one to write and forward all kinds of data. For example, if something important happens, like a natural disaster, one of your Facebook contacts could write it, and if it is actually transcendental, their contacts are going to replicate the information. In this way, everyone could search more about it if they are interested. On the other hand, it is also true that the info on social networks could not be reliable. Additionally, it could create misinformation, and it does. Gossips and rumours are highly widespread throughout the net. That said, it is not less true that is everyone's responsibility to check the information, and not to share it if you are not sure about it. For example, a huge quantity of problems have been caused when a natural disaster happens, and the community starts to share rumors. This could be fixed if we assume personal responsibility for this, and the government develop laws to regulate this. In conclusion, it is true that being informed by social media is not always reliable, but the benefits surpass the drawbacks if people use it wisely.