A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

All authorities are responsible for supporting their citizens to be safe. Some groups of people assert that officials must make more effort to procure the security of their countries, while other groups claim that providing social benefits should be prioritized by the governments. However, I believe that governments should be able to provide both safety and social interests. On the one hand, security and safety matters are one of the major issues that have made countless concerns all over the world. Habitats of a country will not be satisfied or calm unless they are provided with a secure and safe condition in their countries. For instance, dearth of safety in countries like Afghanistan, Syria, and Pakistan not only has brought life dissatisfaction for these countries ' dwellers but also made people in neighborhood countries worried about their own countries ' conditions. On the other hand, governments have various and multiple responsibilities regarding people's requirements. Although security is a vital part of each country's policy, it is not the one and only aspect of the society that must be considered. It is essential that, all needs of a nation, including financial, economic, social, and political ones, are met that can cause the residents of that area to become more satisfied and jubilant. For example, a country like North Korea has conflict with almost all countries over the world in order to keep its territory safe. This safety is just for its terrain and has not been able to bring its people freedom, delightfulness, satisfaction, and etc. In conclusion, I believe that a qualified government considers both safety and social benefits of its citizens, and tries to make a balance between providing both of them.