Nowadays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent year more and more individuals prefer to meet virtually instead of in person meetings. In my opinion I think that this trend comes with negative repercussions. The main argument in favour of my opinion is that it develops a feeling of isolation among individuals. Before the Internet facility people were out going and outspoken. They were used to go out and meet their friends and relatives but now they are staying home and chatting online, this resulted in deteriorating the quality and depth of relationships, which leads to isolation. Moreover younger ones try to contemplate the seemingly perfect life of others online, which is not always true, sometimes they think why they are the only ones suffering and this give birth to feelings like envy, insecurity and they feel low self-esteem. On the contrary, the technology mediated interactions has broken down the geographic barriers, people with similar interests, can connect all around the world. With this they can builto built and polish their skills and socialization has helped in promoting diversity and inclusion. Nowadays more people are respecting each other and understanding different cultures without any predefined norms. Hence, internet or social platforms are powerful source of social change.  All said and done, although this development has positives like connecting and breaking cultural barriers, because people are losing social empathy and quality of relationships. Therefore, I see this advancement as a negative impact.