Pressure on the school and university students is increasing and students are pushed to hard work when they are young. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, in most developed countries, students are increasingly challenged at educational institutions. While some people view this act as beneficial for the youth, I deeply believe that it does more harm to them. First and foremost, when kids are pushed to work hard at school, they learn to overcome adversity at a young age. As a result, they acquire fundamental life skills, which prove essential to achieving further educational challenges. For example, if school attendants are pushed when they are young, they develop inner strength and confidence, therefore they believe they can succeed at every challenge imposed. Consequently, when these individuals become adults they already have a strong sense of purpose and thus they achieve their goals much easier than their peers. On the other hand, I believe that putting increasing academic pressure on students can leave many detrimental implications for their physical well-being. In particular, many young children have to suffer from fatigue and health deterioration when they are pushed to spend most of their time studying at school and in extra classes on a daily basis. In other words, too much time is allocated to studying hard, which means that they are likely to lead a sedentary lifestyle without any chances to do physical activities regularly. In addition, with a tight study schedule, young children and university students can be put at risk of mental health issues such as stress and depression which are the main culprits of the increasing suicide rate. This can be exemplified by the cases in some Asian countries such as Korea and China where studying is very pressured due to tough competitiveness with prestigious universities. This leads many students to make a desperate decision to end their own lives to escape from all the pressure. To conclude, while some argue that it is a positive development that pupils be pushed to work harder when attending school, I strongly believe that it is more disadvantageous that they get pushed to become their best self in education.