Some people think that old buildings should be protected, while others believe that they should be replaced by newer buildings. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. (appears most years in the test)

While some believe that old buildings should be preserved, critics argue that they should be demolished and instead, new buildings should be constructed with the latest architectural advancements. While maintaining our heritage and culture through protecting old infrastructure is vital, in my opinion, the adverse effects on health that can develop with living in such buildings should be kept in mind while making such decisions. Old buildings are an essential component in preserving cultural heritage so their loss will have a detrimental impact on the society’s efforts to safeguard old traditions and practices. Many houses built in India in the past had large courtyards in the center to enable social interactions among family members, which fostered strong bond formation. If such traditional homes are broken down and rebuilt to form modern buildings devoid of cultural identity, it will lead to homogenization, eventually resulting in the loss of cultural identity. However, living in such historic buildings can be hazardous and endanger the occupants as stringent safety regulations are often not administered on such buildings. For instance, many houses built in the 1980s are responsible for a major share of lead poisoning cases in the USA. If these older buildings are not reconstructed, the safety of their inhabitants cannot be ensured. Thus, they should be replaced by new buildings with strong foundations where homeowners can live in peace and not worry about their health. To conclude, although preserving our heritage by protecting old buildings is important, I contend that if the safety regulations are not met, strict laws should be enforced to construct new buildings in replacement.