In many countries, a financial crime involving identity theft is increasing. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it identity theft has on the victims involved?

Recently identity theft has become much more prevalent around the globe. This essay will firstly argue the principal root of this trend, social platforms and secondly, contend that emotional stress is bound to be the major effect. From a personal standpoint, the Internet community is a great platform for connecting with people, building relationships, sharing ideas and expanding businesses. Despite these great benefits, it is also a fertile ground for cyber criminals who are searching for unsuspecting victims. The prevalence of the usage of social networking websites in today’s digital age has also attracted internet fraudsters to set up multiple social media accounts and join many social media platforms so as to increase their chance of reaching their targets. In other words, Malicious software and sites that look legitimate can easily be shared over social websites with as many people as possible within a very short time. For example, According to the Bromium report, nearly 1 out of 5 organisations worldwide are now infected by malware that is shared through social media. It is my contention that identity theft can be a difficult and bitter pill to swallow. sufferers may undergo various emotions such as shock, anger, fear, shame, and anxiety. These emotions may harm a victim’s mental health and relationships with loved ones. In addition, emotional stress can also affect one’s physical health. sacrifices also have trouble sleeping and symptoms such as body aches, heart palpitations, and sweating. In conclusion, this kind of crime could have a deleterious impact on the community. some measures such as spreading awareness about cyber security, using Antivirus and not clicking on unknown links are all important.