People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

To begin with, in a world marked by economic progression, a grim reality of a materialistic society is becoming increasingly prevalent. This is featured markedly with images of people being fanatical about luxury goods as one means to flaunt their wealth and success. What is worse is the added competition among friends in such relentless pursuits of status and money, hence undermining core values of human bonding. An acquisitive society placing an emphasis on personal accumulation of possessions can also be reflected in an economy that relies heavily on debt and consumer spending, most notably with Korea where the majority of citizens are getting trapped in astounding credit debts. Furthermore, expensive communication technology should be made responsible for a fragmented relationship of human beings. The proliferation of smartphones and social media means people tend to depend heavily on state-of-the-art communication methods to keep in touch with friends on a daily basis. At first glance, this seems idealistic and promising, yet the real problem is that such alternatives to face-to-face communication often overlook the nuances of emotions and body languages, thus perpetuating a superficial way to establish liaison with others, one that highlights selfishness and debases empathy as well as other virtues. However, my stand on criticisms against material possessions taking precedence over development of personal relationship is that such a harsh attitude is biased and one-dimensional. It should be recognized that not everybody is materialistic and driven by money and that the formed attitude is an outcome of upbringing, personality, and friendship groups. There are societies, China or Japan to be mentioned, that still set great stores by family bonding while focusing on monetary gains.