To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that GM foods are not unhealthy but affect the nature too. Do you think the advantages of GM food outweigh the drawbacks?

The increasing population has caused a growing need for food, and the country should adopt genetically modified foods. However, some claim that it is an unhealthy approach and negatively affects nature. In my opinion, I believe that genetically modified food can bring about more advantages for society compared to any problems it might cause. Despite the drawbacks mentioned below, I believe that the benefits gained from genetically modified food are extremely useful. Firstly, farmers can produce crops that grow faster and larger. In other words, they do not have to wait a long time to harvest crops, which allows them to plant more. For example, they can provide many fruits and vegetables in a short period. As a result, society benefits from a greater supply of vegetables and fruits while the population continues to grow. Secondly, genetically modified crops are more resistant to diseases and insects, which improves their quality. Hence, they look better and are more attractive to customers. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when people rely on genetically modified food. One problem is that organic farming may be slower and more expensive. That is to say, it is not available year-round, and poor people may not be able to afford it. For instance, dates can grow only in hot climates, such as Saudi Arabia, and are not available in colder countries. As a result, they become expensive when exported. Another issue is that people are uncertain whether genetically modified food is healthy or not. This type of food does not have enough scientific research to support its safety, so people are skeptical about consuming it. Some even believe that it may lead to serious health issues, such as cancer. To sum up, helping farmers produce fast-growing crops that are resistant to insects and diseases far outweighs any minor drawbacks that could result from genetically modified food.